Funeral Protection Plus™

A preneed life insurance policy to cover your funeral, your way

Funeral Protection Plus

What is Funeral Protection Plus™?

Funeral Protection Plus™ offers preneed insurance policies designed to cover the expenses of a funeral.  By enrolling in one of our policies you can spare your family members from the stress of making complicated decisions during an already difficult time and from having to assume the costs of your funeral.

Enjoy the security of knowing that everything will be taken care of and lessen the burden on your loved ones.  Most importantly, choose how YOU want to be remembered.

Image of a family on a walk on the Funeral Protection Plus page.

I’m interested but how does it work?

A licensed insurance agent will meet with you to discuss your preneed insurance needs and tailor a payment plan that is specific to your financial situation.

In addition, the insurance agent can put you in touch with a nearby funeral home from Arbor Memorial Inc., the leader in funeral and cemetery services with locations in all principal cities across Canada. With the assistance of the professionals at Arbor, you will be able to make meaningful and personal decisions that suit your needs and the needs of your family. Once your choices are made, you’re able to secure the arrangements at today’s costs with your preneed insurance policy without having to worry about the rising cost of funerals.

For a no obligation quote, call us at 1-844-886-LIFE (5433) or contact one of our insurance agents today.

Image of three family members embracing on the Funeral Protection Plus page.

Free Estate Planning Guide

Discover the power of planning ahead. Your comprehensive kit includes everything you need to protect your estate and complete your final arrangements.

By planning your funeral and estate arrangements now, you will spare your family from the stress of having to make many immediate decisions during a time of grief.  As well, by paying for your final arrangements today, you can potentially save thousands of dollars, and lift the financial burden from your family.

Frequently Asked Questions

Arrow IconQ. What’s the difference between a traditional life insurance policy and a preneed life insurance policy?

A. Traditional life insurance is intended to provide for a broad range of your survivors’ future financial needs, such as providing income, covering education costs, or paying off a mortgage. Preneed life insurance is specifically intended to cover only the predetermined expenses of a funeral. Preneed life insurance may be payable immediately to the funeral home as the assignee (or the beneficiary) upon the policyholder’s death.

 

Arrow IconQ. How much does preneed life insurance cost?

A. The cost of a plan depends on the value of the service and merchandise packages that you select. We will ensure your plan is suitable for your needs.

 

Arrow IconQ: How are the payments made?

A. Once you determine your preneed life insurance needs, you can make a single premium payment and owe nothing further or you can choose a policy that provides insurance coverage while you make payments over several years. You can choose automatic monthly withdrawals from your chequing or savings account or from an accepted credit card.

 

Arrow IconQ. What is preplanning for my funeral like?

A. Funeral preplanning consists of meeting with a funeral preplanning professional to document the type of funeral you desire, including the type of casket, vault and/or cremation urn you prefer. Once your funeral prearrangements are made, you may use your preneed life insurance policy to secure the cost of your funeral expenses at today’s cost.

 

Arrow IconQ. Where does my money go?

A. Your policy is secured and underwritten by Assurant® Life of Canada. The death benefit is designed to grow over time to help cover the rising cost of your funeral. At the time the policy needs to be fulfilled, your insurance proceeds will be issued to the funeral home responsible for your final arrangements. If there are any excess funds they will be directed to a named beneficiary of your choosing or they can be used to pay for any unanticipated expenses.

 

Arrow IconQ. What if I just want to set aside funds for my funeral expenses, do you offer this type of coverage?

A. Yes, we do. If you are not ready to select a specific funeral home or funeral service, you can choose any amount of money to be paid to your beneficiary to help pay for funeral arrangements or expenses related to death. However, by selecting an Arbor Funeral Home, you can rest assured that your specific wishes will be carried out and you will benefit from our price guarantee based on today’s cost.

 

Arrow IconQ. Can I change my mind after after enrolling in the insurance policy or if I cannot afford my payments?

A. Yes. We offer a 30-day free-look period from the time of enrollment. If for any reason you choose not to continue the policy, you may cancel in the first 30 days and we will refund all the premiums paid. After 30 days, if you cancel the insurance policy you will receive the cash value of your coverage.

 

Arrow IconQ. Can my prearranged funeral contract be transferred if I move?

A. You may transfer your contract and price guarantee to any Arbor Memorial funeral home across Canada, free of charge.

 

Arrow IconQ. How are claims filed and how long does it take?

A. To file a claim, your family simply needs to contact the funeral home. The funeral home will handle all of the paperwork and correspondence with Assurant Life of Canada. The claim is processed and a cheque may be mailed or the funds transferred electronically to the funeral home within 24 hours of receiving all of the required documentation.

 

Arrow IconQ. Is my money protected for as long as I live?

A. Yes. For your security, Assurant Life of Canada, is a member of Assuris, a not for profit organization funded by Canadian insurance companies, where all of its policyholders are protected for the amount of their coverage.  Our plan offers security to you and your family that the money to cover your final expenses will be immediately available when it’s needed.

 

Arrow IconQ. Do I ever need a medical exam to qualify for insurance?

A. No, there is no medical examination required. If you answer “no” to the standard health questions in the application, you will be approved for instant coverage. Should you have any health concerns, your coverage will begin two years from your policy’s start date. However, you will receive a return of all insurance premiums and interest if death occurs within two years of your insurance coverage start date.

 

Arrow IconQ. What happens if I die before I’ve paid all my premiums?

A. Assurant Life of Canada will pay the policy proceeds to your designated funeral home if you have assigned your benefits to the funeral home. Thereafter Assurant Life of Canada will pay to your designated beneficiary the full remaining proceeds of your insurance policy, provided that your premiums are up to date at the time of death.  If you declared certain health concerns at the time of the application, a two-year waiting period may apply before full coverage is in effect. However, your beneficiary will receive a return of all insurance premiums and interest if death occurs within two years of your insurance coverage start date.

 

Find an agent near you

Funeral Protection Plus™ is currently offered in Ontario through licensed insurance agents representing Arbor Memorial Insurance Inc.
Send us a message or call us toll-free for a no-obligation quote at 1-844-886-LIFE (5433).

Michael Montanaro

Manager, Pre-Planning

Jason Rayne

Agent

Pickering, East Toronto and Eastern Ontario

416-624-1817

jrayne@funeralprotectionplus.com

Syed Noor Ahmed

Agent

Brampton, West Toronto and North of Toronto

647-701-9487

snahmed@funeralprotectionplus.com

Steve Georgakapoulos

Agent

London and SW Ontario

519-872-3593

steve@funeralprotectionplus.com

Brian Sher

Agent

Agnes Sarmago-Loshusan

Agent

Adam McBrain

General Agent

1-844-886-LIFE (5433)

amcbrain@arbormemorial.com

Funeral Protection Plus™ is sold by Arbor Memorial Insurance Inc. and underwritten by Assurant® Life of Canada.

Assurance Funeral Protection Plus™

Une police d’assurance vie conçue pour régler vos frais funéraires, à votre façon

Funeral Protection Plus

Qu’est-ce que Funeral Protection Plus™?

Funeral Protection Plus™ offre des polices d’assurance vie conçues pour régler les frais funéraires.  En souscrivant l’une de nos polices, vous pourrez épargner aux membres de votre famille le stress lié à la prise de décisions complexes à un moment déjà très pénible pour eux et la nécessité de devoir assumer les frais de vos funérailles.   Vous aurez l’esprit tranquille et allégerez le fardeau de vos proches en sachant que tout sera réglé à l’avance.  Mais surtout, VOUS choisirez la façon de commémorer votre vécu.

Image of a family on a walk on the Funeral Protection Plus page.

Cette police m’intéresse, mais comment fonctionne-t-elle?

Un agent d’assurance agréé prendra rendez-vous avec vous pour discuter de vos besoins et établir un régime de paiement adapté à votre situation financière.

L’agent d’assurance pourra vous mettre en contact avec un salon funéraire d’Arbor Memorial Inc., le chef de file en matière de services de funérailles et d’inhumation au Canada, détenant des emplacements dans les principales grandes villes du pays. Avec l’aide des spécialistes d’Arbor, vous serez en mesure de prendre des décisions pertinentes et personnelles qui répondent à vos besoins et à ceux de votre famille. Après avoir fait vos choix, vous pourrez, à l’aide de votre police d’assurance, les garantir en fonction des coûts d’aujourd’hui, sans avoir à vous inquiéter des coûts croissants des funérailles.

Pour obtenir un devis sans obligation, appelez-nous au 1-844-886-LIFE (5433) ou contactez l’un de nos agents d’assurance dès aujourd’hui.

Image of three family members embracing on the Funeral Protection Plus page.

Foire aux questions

Icône flècheQ. Quelle est la différence entre une police d’assurance vie traditionnelle et une police d’assurance vie pour frais funéraires?

R. Les polices d’assurance vie traditionnelles ont pour but de répondre à une vaste gamme de besoins financiers futurs pour vos survivants, comme représenter une source de revenu, régler les frais de scolarité ou rembourser l’hypothèque. Comme son nom l’indique, une assurance vie pour frais funéraires est spécialement conçue pour régler les frais prédeterminés de vos funérailles. Le produit de cette assurance peut être versé sur-le-champ au salon funéraire à titre de bénéficiaire  après le décès du titulaire de police.

 

Icône flècheQ. Combien coûte une assurance vie pour frais funéraires?

R. Les coûts d’une telle police dépendent de la valeur des biens et services que vous choisissez. Nous nous assurerons que celle-ci répond à vos besoins.

 

Icône flèche Q. Comment les primes sont-elles réglées?

R. Après avoir déterminé vos besoins en matière d’assurance vie pour frais funéraires, vous pouvez régler la prime en une somme forfaitaire et ne plus rien avoir à payer, ou choisir une police qui vous fournit une protection d’assurance pendant que vous réglez les primes sur plusieurs années. Vous pouvez opter pour des prélèvements mensuels systématiques sur votre compte de chèques ou d’épargne ou sur une carte de crédit acceptée.

 

Icône flècheQ. En quoi consiste la planification préalable des funérailles?

R. Cette planification consiste à rencontrer un spécialiste pour documenter le type de funérailles que vous désirez, y compris votre préférence entre un cercueil, un caveau ou une urne de crémation. Après avoir pris vos arrangements, la police d’assurance vie pour frais funéraires pourra en garantir les coûts en fonction de dollars courants.

 

Icône flècheQ. Où le capital-décès est-il acheminé?

R. La police est garantie et offerte par Assurant® Vie du Canada. Le capital-décès est conçu pour s’accroître au fil du temps et permettre de régler le coût croissant des funérailles. Le moment venu d’obtenir le produit de l’assurance, celui-ci sera versé au salon funéraire Arbor responsable de vos derniers arrangements. S’il y a des montants excédentaires, ceux-ci seront versés au bénéficiaire que vous avez désigné ou ils peuvent être utilisés pour régler des dépenses imprévues, le cas échéant.

 

Icône flècheQ. Et si je voulais simplement mettre de côté de l’argent pour mes frais funéraires, offrez-vous ce type de garantie?

R. Oui. Si vous n’êtes pas prêt à choisir un salon funéraire, vous pouvez déterminer le montant devant être versé à votre bénéficiaire pour régler les frais funéraires ou d’autres dépenses liées à votre décès. Toutefois, en choisissant un salon funéraire Arbor, vous aurez l’esprit tranquille en sachant que vos volontés seront respectées et que les prix sont garantis en fonction de dollars courants.

 

Icône flècheQ. Puis-je changer d’avis après avoir souscrit la police d’assurance ou si je n’ai plus les moyens de régler les primes?

R. Oui. Nous offrons une période d’examen gratuite de 30 jours suivant la souscription de l’assurance. Si, pour quelque raison que ce soit, vous choisissez de ne pas conserver la police, vous pouvez l’annuler dans les 30 jours suivants, et nous vous rembourserons toutes les primes versées. Après 30 jours, si vous résiliez la police d’assurance, vous recevrez sa valeur de rachat.

 

Icône flècheQ. Puis-je transférer mon contrat si je déménage?

R. Oui. Vous pouvez transférer, sans frais, votre contrat et la garantie de prix à n’importe lequel salon funéraire Arbor Memorial du Canada.

 

Icône flècheQ. Comment procède-t-on pour réclamer le capital-décès et quel est le délai de règlement?

R. Pour réclamer le capital-décès, votre famille doit simplement prendre contact avec le salon funéraire, qui s’occupera de toute la correspondance avec Assurant Vie du Canada. La demande est traitée dans les 24 heures suivant la réception de toute la documentation requise, après quoi un chèque est posté ou les fonds sont transférés par voie électronique.

 

Icône flècheQ. Mon argent est-il protégé ma vie durant?

R. Oui. Pour votre sécurité, Assurant® Vie du Canada est membre d’Assuris, organisation sans but lucratif qui est financée par les compagnies d’assurance canadiennes et qui protège tous les titulaires de police en fonction du montant de leur assurance.

 

Icône flècheQ. Dois-je subir un examen médical pour avoir droit à l’assurance?

R. Non, aucun examen médical n’est requis. Si vous répondez « Non » aux questions médicales standards qui figurent sur la proposition d’assurance, vous obtiendrez une approbation instantanée. Si votre état de santé suscite des préoccupations, la protection d’assurance entrera en vigueur deux ans après la date d’entrée en vigueur de la police.

 

Icône flècheQ. Qu’arrive-t-il si je décède avant d’avoir réglé toutes les primes?

R. Assurant Vie du Canada versera le produit de l’assurance au salon funéraire désigné, si vous l’avez choisi comme bénéficiaire des prestations. Ensuite, le reste du produit sera versé à votre bénéficiaire désigné, pourvu que le paiement des primes soit à jour à la date de votre décès.  Si vous avez déclaré certaines préoccupations de santé au moment de remplir la proposition d’assurance, une période d’attente de deux ans pourrait être applicable avant que la pleine protection entre en vigueur. Toutefois, votre bénéficiaire recevra le remboursement de toutes les primes, majorées des intérêts, si le décès survient au cours des deux années suivant l’entrée en vigueur de la protection d’assurance.

 

Repérez un agent près de chez vous

L'assurance Funeral Protection Plus™ est actuellement offerte en Ontario par l'intermédiaire des agents d'assurance agréés représentant Arbor Memorial Insurance Inc.
Envoyez un message ou appelez-nous sans frais au 1-844-886-LIFE (5433) pour obtenir un devis sans obligation.

Adam McBrain

Agent Général

(416) 763-3230 x3015

amcbrain@arbormemorial.com

Michael Montanaro

Gestionnaire des préarrangements

Jason Rayne

Agent

Pickering, Toronto Est et Est de l’Ontario

416-624-1817

jrayne@funeralprotectionplus.com

Syed Noor Ahmed

Agent

Brampton, Toronto Ouest et Nord de Toronto

647-701-9487

snahmed@funeralprotectionplus.com

Agnes Sarmago-Loshusan

Agent

Région métropolitaine de Toronto

416-450-6594

agnes@funeralprotectionplus.com

Steve Georgakapoulos

Agent

London et sud-ouest de l'Ontario

519-872-3593

steve@funeralprotectionplus.com

Brian Sher

Agent

Région métropolitaine de Toronto

416-994-9679

brian@funeralprotectionplus.com

L’assurance Funeral Protection Plus™ est vendue par Arbor Memorial Insurance Inc. et offerte par Assurant® Vie du Canada.